July favourites

Seeing as though my life has been pretty uneventful in the past few weeks, I decided to do yet another favourites post because, why not?

First things first, I have to talk about Harry Potter. On July 31st, Harry’s birthday, the script-book for the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child play was released. My mom, sister and I went to a midnight release party at our bookstore and I would have enjoyed it despite my terrible headache. I got the book and read it in three hours once I woke up that morning! I loved it. There were some aspects I found a little far-fetched, but in all honesty, I would read J.K. Rowling’s grocery lists and enjoy them. So after finishing the script, I had a twinge of post-Potter depression, and the only known cure (well in my books at least) is to reread the series…again. I started and finished The Philosopher’s Stone on the same day as The Cursed Child and then The Chamber of Secrets the next day and then The Prisoner of Azkaban the day after that. I almost forgot how entrancing that world is and I have found myself completely lost in it. I started the fourth book last night, but I think it will take me a little longer than a day to read it all. If you haven’t read Harry yet, you absolutely should. It will change your life.

Next, we have the peach green tea lemonade from Starbucks. OMG this is delicious! It tastes exactly like fuzzy peaches and it has been an unhealthy obsession of mine for the past few months. It is also amazing if you ask the barista to mix it with the mango black tea, thats how my mom likes it! Since I have been going through this stuff like crazy, I actually bought the tea bags so I can make it at home, it’s a WAY better deal and tastes just the same!

The only beauty-related favourite I have is the Formula X nail polishes, more specifically the MATCH mini set. I have crazy fair skin, and Formula X has made a set of 4 neutral(ish) polishes that compliment your skin tone. I obviously have the “light” set and I love all the colours, but my favourite is the pink! The formula on these is outstanding and whenever I wear them, my friends tell me it looks like I got them done at a salon.

All summer long I have been trying to find the perfect casual dress, and I finally found it! It is a navy blue and white striped sleeveless swing dress with a high neck and I just love it. The best part is that I got it on sale at Hollister for $15! I have worn it to the mall, to friends houses and out for lunch. I love wearing it with white Chuck Taylor’s and a denim jacket (if it’s cool out). I don’t think it is available anymore, but you can definitely find similar ones everywhere.

And last but not least, there is the Hamilton soundtrack. My sister got me hooked at the start of the month and OH MAN. For those of you who do not know, Hamilton is a broadway musical about Alexander Hamilton, one of America’s founding fathers done in hip hop music. Now, at first I did not think that I would be in to something like this, I’m not American, not into hip hop music and I have never really been into broadway. But after spending hours listening to and memorizing the songs, I am addicted. It is so smart and clever and funny, and I have actually learnt a ton about US history (even though it does not necessarily benefit me up here in Canada). I would probably give an arm and a leg to go see the show live. If you have not heard it yet, I would seriously advise being open-minded and giving it a listen!

So that concludes this month’s favourites. I hope you guys check out some of the things I have been loving! If you love any of the things that I have, feel free to mention it in the comments, I’d love chatting about any of it!

Until next time,

NiceGirl

 

 

Leave a Reply

